Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Students page  (Read 5105 times)

Mark Gillespie

• T1
Students page
« on: November 15, 2015, 09:21:57 PM »

Hi

As a teacher I have used the Tighar site on a number of occasions when there has been a connection to my lessons. It's great for all sorts of things: as a starter for inquiry activities, logic and reasoning, today I used it as a provocation for reading strategies...  my question is: has a page especially designed for school students been considered? I feel it would be immensely useful, and not just to US students (I teach international kids).

My apologies if this has been discussed before.

cheers
Mark

Alfred Hendrickson

• TIGHAR member
Re: Students page
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2015, 08:03:47 AM »

What would be on the student page?

Ric Gillespie

• Executive Director
  • Administrator
  • "Do not try. Do or do not. There is no try" Yoda
Re: Students page
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2015, 09:56:51 AM »

has a page especially designed for school students been considered? I feel it would be immensely useful, and not just to US students (I teach international kids).

Thanks for raising this subject. As you have discovered, The Earhart Project is an ideal vehicle for teaching a wide range of subjects and principles - from geography, to meteorology, to mathematics, to history, to critical thinking, to the scientific method of inquiry.
Amelia Earhart is also a popular National History Day project for Middle Schoolers and doing an interview is often one of the requirements. We get dozens of requests and I always make time to do interviews with kids via email, phone, Skype, or in person.  In fact, there are two 14 year-olds scheduled to come here tomorrow to interview me.