Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Protection for the Electra  (Read 14672 times)

Robertansley

• TIGHAR member
  • "I suspect no one & I suspect everyone.." Clouseau
Protection for the Electra
« on: November 09, 2014, 10:20:08 AM »

Dr. Ballard had some time by himself (with crew) to explore the Titanic before everyone caught on.  However when you find the Electra its location will be known worldwide.  Will you be able to recover what remains straight away?  It will generate a feeding frenzy I'll bet.  (I am studying the art of recovering old wrecks but I'm pretty ignorant about it right now. My apologies if this has been discussed.  I tried looking for it first)
Robert
Robert Ansley

Ric Gillespie

• Executive Director
  • Administrator
  • "Do not try. Do or do not. There is no try" Yoda
Re: Protection for the Electra
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2014, 10:54:17 AM »

If we find the Electra, or whatever remains of it, we will not try to recover anything except possibly some small diagnostic artifact.  Recovery will require careful planning and preparation to lift without damaging and apply appropriate conservation measures once recovered. In the meantime, security would, of course, be an issue but we expect to be able to have daily satellite surveillance.

Robertansley

• TIGHAR member
  • "I suspect no one & I suspect everyone.." Clouseau
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2014, 10:09:26 PM »

Thanks Ric.  I truly believe you will eventually find it as long as the donations keep coming in.  I'm sure after finding it and being able to prove it that funding will no longer be a problem. 
Robert Ansley

Dave Lima

• T1
« Reply #3 on: November 21, 2014, 07:32:00 AM »

So is that then Tighar's official plan in the momentous event the plane is found: to recover a small sample of the plane, then recover the balance in a very careful and controlled manner?