Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Mysterious Patch Window  (Read 14484 times)

Randy Conrad

• TIGHAR member
Mysterious Patch Window
« on: March 04, 2015, 10:52:47 PM »

I ran across something this evening and I want your guys input on this matter. Granted I'm no expert here, but I am still confused as to why anyone would want to put a bigger window on this plane. As I was looking at this photo I noticed that the so called patch window has a frame around it. Kinda of like when we customize car windows or install a window. As you can see in the orange arrows....the window was encased....unlike the window to the right that has the red arrows. This is the actual window design of this aircraft. Now here is where I am really questionning this whole window concept. At the bottom of the patch window you notice a series of rivets outlined by blue boxes. If you were to make any changes to windows...why on earth would you change your rivet pattern to do so? Anyway, why I say that...the patch window does not line up along the main support that runs up and down. Also, noticed a slight gap in the metal of the plane (outlined in gold). At the bottom of the plane...you have a series of rivets that run along the metal....but as soon as they get to the area where the patch window is...they stop? Why is that? To be honest...I feel that this window wasn't intended to be a window afterall, but a door!!!! Give me your feedback!!! Thanks!!!

Craig Romig

• T3
Re: Mysterious Patch Window
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2015, 02:22:36 AM »

Speaking only as my experience drilling out rivets. The holes usually get drilled out just a slight larger. So I have used slightly larger rivets. Or made new rivet holes.

Neff Jacobs

• T2
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2015, 07:40:29 AM »

Why a picture window in the bathroom or the reasons for a different installation are well beyond me.