Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Discussions Re Radio Bearings, Fall 2012  (Read 51755 times)

Alan Harris

• T3
Discussions Re Radio Bearings, Fall 2012
« on: September 02, 2012, 05:53:52 PM »

I am starting this topic for discussion of recent points raised in other threads possibly affecting the Radio Direction Finder Analysis and, marginally, the Post-Loss Radio Signals analysis.  Most of the points arose in the Lambrecht Search topic for reasons not germane here.

Let me begin by saying that I am not an expert here, in fact roughly the opposite.  What I know in total about the physics of radio wave propagation, the state of RF Engineering in the 1930's, and the operational practices for obtaining radio bearings would not be "acne on the posteriors" of members such as Chuck Varney, Bob Brandenburg, Gary LaPook, and Art Johnson.  I got into this merely by asking a couple of simple-minded questions; it is my hope that some informed people will chime in and continue the discussion.  If I am lucky enough for that to be the case, I will just sit back and read, and never have to post here again, lol.

The points possibly deserving further discussion include:

1)  The Radio Bearing 5 signal (Pan Am, Midway) has been classified as Not Credible, for what appear to be good reasons, namely, length of the transmission and the very strong language in the Midway operators' description (". . . proved to be . . . later definitely discarded . . .").  Does that mean our standard reference RDF Analysis bearing chart and discussion (linked above) should be modified sometime to reflect the change in evaluation of Bearing 5?